top of page

FMP (Week 18) - The last week!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH.

I can't believe this is my final hand-in for uni! The past three years have gone so quickly. This week along with having an existential crisis, I have been adding the very last touches to my level and making my portfolio look a little bit nicer!

I fixed the particle effects on the waterfall as my main priority to make it look (slightly) better.

I edited the landscape in the hidden area to be a bit more interesting and less flat, I also rearranged a few assets to try and lead the viewer around the area better.

I then moved on to creating my final main asset, the bonsai tree! I created the bonsai tree originally in SpeedTree so that I could get the original shape down easily, and then manually edited the topology to be quads rather than triangles and to reduce it down from around 20k tris to <5k.

I made a very simple high poly simply to bevel the edges in the normal and then imported it to substance painter where I made use of my pre existing bark and mud textures which I created earlier in the project.

Some images of the tree in engine and rendered...

I probably spent around a day making this tree, with the main bulk of the time being re-topologising the speed tree mesh, which I probably could've made a mesh from scratch in the same time if not faster when I consider how long it ended up taking me.

 

Once everything had been placed in engine, a lot of my time has been spent rendering and building the scene, so I took this as a chance to update my portfolio and add some newer fancy images to the homepage.

I also rearranged the way that each individual project is displayed, and instead of a gallery where you have to use arrow keys to navigate through images, I instead opted for smaller images which can be clicked to view in more detail, so that the viewer sees the vast majority of the project instantly and isn't put off by lots of clicking through images.

 

And for my final level! I'm going to be adding a complete post about this with all of my renders and process, but for now here's a quick sneak peak of the final thing ;)

Tags:

bottom of page