top of page

FMP - Japanese Onsen Project Overview


So! After 18 hard weeks my Final Major Project has come to an end. I must admit after 3 years I am pretty sad that this is the last project I will ever do at University, but I have come a long way in this time and I'm proud of what I achieved.

This post is to mainly compile all of my work and development over this project together - and to make it as small and bearable as possible I'm going to add little galleries for each section so that people can look at whatever images they want or don't, without having to scroll through miles upon miles of images! At the end I'll write a summary of my final thoughts along with posting all of my final renders.

 

Concepts and Research

 

Initial Whiteboxing

 

Random Development Images

 

Final Renders

 

Individual Asset Galleries

 

Final Thoughts

I'm quite proud with how my project has come along! I've learnt so many things. Before this project, I hadn't ever used Substance Designer, World Machine or SpeedTree. I hadn't ever created particles or landscape shaders, I hadn't even ever created a water shader before! I believe that I achieved my brief and goals, and am happy that I now have pieces for my portfolio which demonstrate all of my new and previous existing skills.

At the start of the project, it was recommended to me that I should make two or three smaller environments, rather than one large one, but I wanted to prove to myself that I could complete a large scale project by myself, and I did! Though I did however get a little bored and I don't think I needed to make such a large environment to showcase my skills but I feel like I have many nice angles and areas in my scene that help to keep it interesting.

If I were to do this project again, I would spend more time on the building and make it larger in the area, as this was the initial key area in the scene, but somehow the landscape ended up taking over and consuming the vast majority of my time, oops!

Tags:

bottom of page