top of page

FMP (Week 15) - Finally getting somewhere


I spent the vast majority of this week making small changes to my level and creating the new gong asset. In comparison to the shrine which I created at the start of the project as a test for substance painter workflows, I feel like I've come quite a long way in understanding substance better, from not only now using some of my own textures made in designer, to also having a lot better understanding of how masks, filters and generators work. Not to mention all of my textures are facing the right way this time, yay!

Another asset I decided to finish this week was the bench I created a few weeks ago, which I was able to texture surprisingly quickly after finally figuring out masks while working on the gong.

I also decided to add small amounts of snow back into the roofs of the buildings, however this time only a small amount as I really like the blue roof and still wanted this to be a strong colour in the scene.

Finally I added a few more hills to the mid ground of the scene to make a bit of a smoother transition to the background that isn't as obvious.

Overall a pretty slow week! But I feel like my level is finally getting there, my list of priorities at this point is something along the lines of:

  • Small assets (Ropes, handrails, pillows, etc)

  • Waterfall

  • Particles (Snow/steam)

  • Possible monkey but most probably not, sorry!

  • Video fly-through and turntables of some of the nicer assets

  • Try to hand-in on time!

Tags:

bottom of page