top of page

FMP (Week 9) - Where is the time going?

This week I have been desperately trying to fill in my scene and populate it with more assets. I decided one of the most important things I was yet to add was some rocks around the edges of the hot spring pools.

The rocks in my references had all been flattened to allow people to stand/sit on the rocks, so I chose to design my rocks like this also to try and make the scene feel more authentic and realistic. I plan to make more natural looking rocks to use around the more hilly areas also.

I followed the same production workflow for texturing these assets as used previously; using Substance Designer to bake down textures which I then used to create filters and generators to define the edges of the assets and give a more stylised feel.

 

Another priority this week was to finish off one of my last main tileable textures; my wooden planks.

This was quite a simple material to make in Substance Designer. I tried to keep my planks very simplistic and not use too much grain detailing to keep a very flat look as intended.

 

Progress shots

Tags:

bottom of page