top of page

FMP (Week 8) - Becoming more familiar with Substance

This week has mainly been spent learning Substance Painter and Designer in more depth.

 

I needed to create a ground texture to go with my snow texture, which I eventually produced by following multiple tutorials and observing many graphs on substance share to figure out how to make it look how I wanted it to. I am not 100% happy with the texture yet, but as my first experimental substance material I have learnt quite a lot and will definitely be putting my learning to use in the future.

An image showing both my snow and mud texture combined and applied to the scene.

I also started to create a basic wood plank tiling texture, which still needs tweaking before being added to the level

 

After messing around more in Substance Designer and practising new materials. I decided to return to some of my older assets which still need texturing.

I wanted to texture these assets using Substance Painter but still have a slight stylised feeling to them, rather than being photo realistic, to achieve this I sculpted into the models in ZBrush and then baked them down in Substance Painter. The normal map information was used to texture the assets using generators and filters, meaning that no actual photo textures were used in the process and giving a more stylised feel to the final result.

At this point I am becoming slightly worried, as everything I am doing seems to be taking quite a bit longer than I had originally planned. I am hoping that as I become more familiar with each of these programs my workflow will drastically speed up and I should be able to get myself back on track with the level.

Tags:

bottom of page