top of page

Style Matrix - Realistic Shop Hand in

Style Matrix Realistic Shop

10th January 2016

Name: Katie Byrne

P Number: P1413266x

Email: p1413266x@myemail.dmu.ac.uk

Project (The brief you are writing for):

Style Matrix Realistic Shop

Summary (Brief Summary of processes involved in Concepting/Modelling/Unwrapping/Texturing/Engine):

Our first project of third year was the Style Matrix, where we were to select 3 different briefs from a selection of styles and categories with the aim of choosing things we would like to experiment with or spend some time learning to help with our FMP. Each individual project had a duration of 3 weeks and at the end of the total 9 weeks we had 1 extra week to use to polish all 3 of the projects where necessary.

For my final project I decided I wanted to do something completely different to my other two. I wanted to build my skills in environment design and test out modular buildings; something I had not had a chance to do before and would be useful in the future for larger scale environments involving buildings and repeatable assets. I also wanted to use this opportunity to learn substance designer. Due to this; I decided to go with the realistic shop brief, and chose a restaurant in Leicester as inspiration as I found the architecture and contrast between the restaurant and above flats quite interesting and unique. The building was also quite a unique shape and I thought it would be an ideal stand alone corner piece.

Concepting:

Because of the nature of this project no concepts were required, but I collected many photographs of the building itself for reference purposes.

Development:

Final Renders:

Conclusion:

I found this project difficult as it was out of my comfort zone; however I learned a great deal and will definitely use this technique again in the future as I think it turned out quite nicely and was definitely worth all of the stress. I learnt how to create modular buildings using the grid tools in 3ds max, and also how to set up the modular pieces in unreal engine, which both presented me with many new challenges and issues to overcome. I was not able to texture the building in as much depth as I would have liked to, as I unfortunately didn't realise until it was too late that my textures could not be tileable and also use unique normals without needing to create multiple materials for each piece, defeating the point of using tileable textures in the first place. If I was to redo this project I would definitely spend more time detailing the textures and use a different texturing method which allowed me to do so. I would also like to work on the windows and bottom area in more detail.

bottom of page