top of page

Style Matrix - Aviator Hand in

Style Matrix Aviator Character

10th January 2016

Name: Katie Byrne

P Number: P1413266x

Email: p1413266x@myemail.dmu.ac.uk

Project (The brief you are writing for):

Style Matrix Aviator Character

Summary (Brief Summary of processes involved in Concepting/Modelling/Unwrapping/Texturing/Engine):

Our first project of third year was the Style Matrix, where we were to select 3 different briefs from a selection of styles and categories with the aim of choosing things we would like to experiment with or spend some time learning to help with our FMP. Each individual project had a duration of 3 weeks and at the end of the total 9 weeks we had 1 extra week to use to polish all 3 of the projects where necessary.

For this project in particular I chose to do a stylised character, and selected the aviator character brief. The brief already provided a concept but I decided to tweak this concept to fit a different style which can be seen in the concepting section below. Apart from creating the character in 3D and texturing it, we also had to rig and pose the character.

Concepting:

These are the original provided concepts and I decided to go with the female character as I quite liked her attitude and thought her clothing was interesting to replicate in my own chosen style.

Here you can see my re-design of the character, still keeping all of the key elements from the original image.

Orthographics for correct modelling proportions.

Development:

Final renders:

Conclusion:​

Overall I feel as though I achieved everything I wanted to with this project. I successfully modified the concept to my own design whilst staying within the brief and also had chance to experiment with new texturing procedures such as substance painter where I added PBR to the model. I do think that there are areas which could've been improved, mainly the general silhouette and focusing mainly on the bottom half of the character. It would have been beneficial for me to add more interesting features in the trousers and also the boots, as these were the last parts of the model I created I unfortunately spent less time on them than I perhaps should have, and this is definitely a lesson as I need to ensure my model is of a acceptable quality at all points.

bottom of page