top of page

Yr3 Week 9: Texturing and adding details

So this week has been pretty slow also. I decided to use this week to teach myself the basics of using programs like Substance Designer to create unique photo realistic texture.

I had a go at creating my own brick textures, and whilst I get the basics of the program and see how it is useful, I found it took a very long time to create quite simple textures, and for this project I didn't want to be spending such a large amount of time creating each texture, so I opted to go with photo textures instead.

The image above shows on of my first rough textured models in engine unlit. I decided that these were the basic colours I wanted to go with and that I wanted to make it a night-time scene, so I began setting up lighting and effects to achieve the desired atmosphere.

Here you are able to see the building lit. I decided to make the windows glow as if there was a light on inside of the building and I think this works well as a night time scene and brings life to the model.

Once all of my lighting was set up I made some basic changes to the model, tweaking some textures colouring and sizes and also adding slightly more topology to some of the pieces. I added some simple detailing to the windows and also added some tables and chairs outside the building so that it would look more interesting and detailed.

Next week is to be used to polish models and finalise our projects before submission, so I intended to carry on adding extra to this building; mainly around the ground area. I will also be using this time to finish my other projects and intend to hopefully start a small personal project over the Christmas break.

bottom of page