top of page

Yr2 Week 21: OTM Development

This week consisted mainly on working on characters. After my group members had said they liked my previous Demetrius concepts and were happy with the style I had chosen, I went on to make a concept for Bottom.

Bottom was more difficult to concept, as he is described as quite bulky and gives off quite an unnatractive feel in the play, but is described to be the best looking out of the perofmers in the play, so I had to try and balance this the best that I could. Also, drawing a donkey mask in a disney-esque style was also a slight challenge.

I hope to develop my concepts a little further to look a bit more finalised and detailed in the future.

With my concepts done, I started to work on a male base mesh, focused mainly on correct proportions rather than our chosen style, which I can easily modify later to fit the style when developing the characters.

After my base mesh was done, I started to work on Demetrius and experiment with a more stylised face. I think I am starting to get the right idea in the image below; the hair and eyebrows definitely add to the style and make him more unique and recognisable.

I then did some very quick clothing tests in Marvelous Designer. It seems as though the basic clothes for both of my characters will be quite easy to produce as they are both just relatively simple tunics which I can work into further in ZBrush later. The only garment I am not about is the cape which Demetrius is going to wear and how it is going to look on the T posed models and will have to tackle this problem at some point.

As well as developing characters, I also attended multiple group meetings where we dicscussed our level design and mechanics amongst ourselves and with out tutors, and we now seem to have a more solid plan of the gameplay and map designs and white boxes coming together.

By the end of next week I hope to have finished both sculpts for Demetrius and Bottom (though possibly not the donkey head yet), and have made a few untextured assets to be used in the whitebox.

bottom of page